Home Page


The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Framework


All providers who educate children from birth to 5 years old follow the EYFS framework, which is, in part, made up of these seven areas of learning and development:


Prime Areas

  • Communication and Language (CL)

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development (PSED)

  • Physical Development (PD)

Specific Areas

  • Literacy (L)

  • Mathematics (M)

  • Understanding the World (UtW)

  • Expressive Arts and Design (EAD)


Throughout their year in Reception, these areas shape the children's activities and experiences. During the summer term, each child is assessed against the early learning goals (ELGs) for each area to formulate their Early Years Foundation Stage Profile (EYFSP). The EYFSP is shared with you as parents/carers as your child's end of year report and it is passed on to your child's Year 1 teacher.