Home Page


Review of financial performance

Tanworth Audited Accounts year end 31/08/17

Welcome to our Governors' section. 

Please find below details of how our Governing body is structured.



The school’s governors are all closely involved with the school either as parents, former parents or as members of the community with an active interest in supporting the school and nursery.

We work closely with the school’s Senior Leadership Team and Parent Teachers Association to ensure that the school and nursery continues as a joyous, safe and aspirational place for our children, and a caring friendly environment for all our families.

Whether you are a current or prospective parent, or perhaps a prospective member of staff, we encourage you to become part of the family that is our school and nursery, to join in with school events and enjoy our peaceful setting next door to the beautiful church of St Mary Magdalene.

Bob Perks
Chair of the Governing Body


Bob Perks Chair of Governors

Bob Perks Chair of Governors 1

The role of the governors

The role of the Governing Body is to set the strategic vision and the admissions policy of the school and nursery, to employ the staff, to monitor and evaluate all aspects of the school and nursery, maintain the buildings and grounds and exercise financial control. The Committees of the Governing Body and a summary of their functions are as follows:
  • Learning and Achievement Committee, reviews pupils’ academic performance and policies relating to the school curriculum
  • Pupil Wellbeing Committee, ensures the Christian Ethos in all policies and practices, reviews all policies relating to pupil wellbeing and safeguarding and links with the School Council of pupils
  • Resources Committee, oversees the admissions of pupils, appointment and development of staff, the finances and the buildings ​

The governors who's who



  • Mrs Emma Adams (Parent Governor)
  • Mr Simon Baskott (Staff Governor)
  • Rev Paul Cudby (Vicar of St Mary Magdalene Tanworth in Arden)
  • Mr Richard Dearing (Chair of the Learning and Achievement Committee)
  • Mrs Ann Field (Special Educational Needs Governor)
  • Mr Richard Garland (Chair of the Resources Committee and Health & Safety Governor)
  • Mr Ian Green (Parent and Safeguarding Governor)
  • Ms Sue Maher (Parent and Chair of the Pupil Wellbeing Committee)
  • Mr Robert Perks (Chair of the Governing Body)
  • Mr Robert Prince (Parent Governor)
  • Mrs Shelley Bamford (Headteacher)
  • Mrs Patricia Saunders (Vice Chair of the Governing Body) ​